World City Information Rotating Header Image


Darwin is the capital city of the Northern Territory, Australia. Situated on the Timor Sea, Darwin has a population of 127,500, making it by far the largest and most populated city in the sparsely populated Northern Territory, but the least populous of all Australia’s capital cities. It is the smallest and most northerly of the Australian capital cities, and acts as the Top End’s regional centre.

Darwin has grown from a pioneer outpost and small port into one of Australia’s most modern and multicultural cities. Its proximity to Asia makes it an important Australian gateway to countries such as Indonesia and East Timor. The Stuart Highway begins in Darwin, ending at Port Augusta in South Australia.

The city itself is built on a low bluff overlooking the harbour. Its suburbs spread out over some area, beginning at Lee Point in the north and stretching to Berrimah in the east—past Berrimah, the Stuart Highway goes on to Darwin’s satellite city, Palmerston, and its suburbs.

The region, like the rest of the Top End, has a tropical climate, with a wet and a dry season. It receives heavy rainfall during the Wet, and is well known for its spectacular lightning.

The original inhabitants of the greater Darwin area are the Larrakia people. On 9 September 1839, HMS Beaglesailed into Darwin harbour during its surveying of the area. John Clements Wickham named the region “Port Darwin” in honour of their former shipmate Charles Darwin, who had sailed with them on the ship’s previous voyage which had ended in October 1836. The settlement there became the town of Palmerston in 1869, and was renamed Darwin in 1911.

Having been almost entirely rebuilt twice, once due to Japanese air raids during World War II, and again after being devastated by Cyclone Tracy in 1974, the city is one of Australia’s most modern capitals.

Other Information

  • Population: 127,532(2010)
  • Density: 926/km² (2,398.3/sq mi) (2008)
  • Established: 1869
  • Area: 112.01 km² (43.2 sq mi)
  • Time zone: ACST (UTC+9:30)
  • Mayor: Graeme Sawyer
  • LGA: Darwin, Palmerston, Litchfield
  • County: Palmerston County
  • State District: Port Darwin (and 14 others)
  • Federal Division: Solomon

Incoming search terms:

  • darwin population 2012
  • population of darwin 2012
  • darwin population
  • darwin\s population 2012
  • population of darwin
  • darwin population 2013
  • population darwin 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>